Question: What are the main provinces of Spain?

What are the biggest provinces in Spain?

List of Spanish provinces by area

Rank Province Area (km²)
1 Badajoz 21,766
2 Cáceres 19,868
3 Ciudad Real 19,813
4 Zaragoza 17,274

What are the 7 regions of Spain?

Regions of Spain

  • Andalucia. …
  • Aragon. …
  • Asturias. …
  • Balearic Islands. …
  • Basque Country. …
  • Canary Islands. …
  • Cantabria. …
  • Castilla La Mancha.

Why is Spain split into regions?

Present-day Spain was formed in the wake of the expansion of the Christian states in northern Spain, a process known as the Reconquista. … The modern division of Spain into Autonomous Communities embodies an attempt to recognise nationalities and regional identities within Spain as a basis for devolution of power.

What is the largest region in Spain?

Ranked list of Spanish autonomous communities by population

Rank Region Population
01 Andalusia 8,449,985
02 Catalonia 7,570,908
03 Community of Madrid 6,498,560
04 Valencian Community 5,129,266

Is there a king in Spain?

Does Spain have two capitals?

“Since the beginning of the 20th century,” the historian Javier Tusell wrote recently:, “Spain has had two cultural capitals, each with its own rhythm of life, and each capable, independently, of linking into the great creative centres abroad – first Paris and Brussells (sic), later New York – at the same time …

AMAZING:  How much is the average electricity bill in Spain?

What are the main exports of Spain?

Spain’s Top Exports

  • Refined petroleum – $13.3 billion.
  • Pig meat – $4.05 billion.
  • Pure olive oil – $3.68 billion.
  • Citrus – $3.67 billion.
  • Copper ore – $2.23 billion.