Who were the presidents of Spain?

Who were the leaders in Spain?


  • Charles V (Carlos) (1516–56)
  • Philip II (Felipe) (1556–98)
  • Philip III (Felipe) (1598–1621)
  • Philip IV (Felipe) (1621–65)
  • Charles II (Carlos) (1665–1700)

Who was first President of Spain?

President of the Republic (Spain)

President of the Republic Presidente de la República
Precursor King of Spain
Formation 14 April 1931
First holder Niceto Alcalá-Zamora
Final holder Manuel Azaña

Has there been a female President in Spain?

María Teresa Fernández de la Vega Sanz (born 15 June 1949) is a Spanish politician and magistrate of the Socialist Party. She currently serves as President of the Spanish Council of State since 2018. … She is the first female deputy prime minister and president of the Council of State in Spanish history.

Who ruled Spain in 1971?

Juan Carlos took the throne on the death of General Francisco Franco, the right-wing dictator who ruled for 36 years after his victory over Republican forces in the Spanish Civil War.

Does Spain have a president or a king?

The form of government in Spain is a parliamentary monarchy, that is, a social representative democratic constitutional monarchy in which the monarch is the head of state, while the prime minister—whose official title is “President of the Government”—is the head of government.

AMAZING:  How many Spanish words can you learn in a day?

Where do Spanish Presidents live?

The Palace of Moncloa or Moncloa Palace (Spanish: Palacio de la Moncloa) is the official residence and workplace of the Prime Minister of Spain. It is located in Puerta de Hierro Avenue, in the Moncloa-Aravaca district in Madrid.

What is the name of Spain president?

Pedro Sánchez has been President of the Government of Spain since June 2018. He holds a Doctorate in Economics and is General Secretary of the Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (Spanish acronym: PSOE), which he joined in 1993.

Is Spain a kingdom?

Spain is a secular parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, with King Felipe VI as head of state.


Kingdom of Spain Reino de España (Spanish) show 4 other names
Demonym(s) Spanish Spaniard
Government Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
• King Felipe VI

How is the president of Spain elected?

The process is a parliamentarian investiture by which the head of government is indirectly elected by the elected Congress of Deputies. In practice, the prime minister is almost always the leader of the largest party in the Congress. … His new government was then sworn in by King Felipe on 13 January 2020.