Quick Answer: Why is Spanish the main language in South America?

Why is Spanish the dominant language in much of Central and South America?

Spanish is spoken throughout Central and South America because these are the regions colonized by Spain after Columbus discovered the New World.

What country in South America doesn’t speak Spanish?

Guyana, French Guiana (one of the overseas territories of France), and Suriname, which are found the northern part of South America and known together as the Guianas, are the only places in South America that do not speak Spanish or Portuguese. Some African languages are also spoken in Latin America.

Why do most Latin American countries speak Spanish or Portuguese?

As Catholicism grew, so did the use of the Spanish language as the primary form of communication. Despite the efforts of the Spaniards to impose the language on the natives, the sheer dominance in numbers caused the language to blend with the local dialects.

What language did South America speak before Spanish?

Indigenous Languages of South America

Language Language Family Spoken in
Quechua Quechuan Peru, Brazil, Bolivia, Argentina, Ecuador, Colombia
Guarani Tupi-Guarani Paraguay
Aymara Aymaran Bolivia
Wayuu Arawakan Colombia, Venezuela

Why South American countries are poor?

The poor people in rural areas are at greater risks for health illness because they lack access to clean water and sanitation. The population has grown, and this is causing more poverty because the country’s cities are becoming over crowded.

AMAZING:  Frequent question: What is the cost of living in Alicante Spain?

What are the four countries that don’t speak Spanish in South America?

The Four “Don’t” Countries

However, they do not consider Spanish to be their primary language of communication in society and/or official government business. These countries are Brazil (Portuguese), Guyana (English), Suriname (Dutch), French Guiana (French).

What is not a Spanish speaking country?

Formerly known as British Honduras, Belize is the only country in Central America that doesn’t have Spanish as its national language. The official language is English, but the most widely spoken language is Kriol, an English-based creole that includes elements of indigenous languages.